Music / News

2017 ARIA Awards reveals fine arts & comedy nominees

Dream Lover joins Gang Of Youths, Midnight Oil, Arj Barker and more in the ARIA shortlist.

Gang Of Youths, Midnight Oil, Dream Lover and Arj Barker are among the nominees for the Fine Arts and Comedy categories of the 2017 ARIA Awards.

Nominees in Fine Arts, Artisan and Best Comedy categories have been revealed ahead of the awards’ official nominations party at The National Art Gallery in Sydney on Tuesday 10 October.

Denis Handlin AO, ARIA Chairman and Chairman and CEO of Sony Music Entertainment Australia and New Zealand and President, Asia, said, “Congratulations to all of this year’s nominees in the Fine Arts, Artisan and Best Comedy Awards. ARIA is delighted to present these awards and to recognise the highly talented Australian musicians and artisans across the diversity of the eight award categories.”

This marks the beginning of the awards’ 2017 campaign, which peaks with a week of music celebrations from Sunday 19 November. The 2017 ARIA Awards ceremony then takes place on Tuesday 28 November at The Star Event Centre in Sydney, and will be broadcast on The Nine Network.

Congrats to the following nominees!


Best Cover Art

Lee McConnell for Dune Rats “The Kids Will Know It’s Bullshit”  (Ratbag Records)
Nathan Cahyadi for Gang Of Youths ”Go Farther In Lightness” (Mosy Recordings/Sony Music)
Nick McKinlay for Julia Jacklin “Don’t Let The Kids Win” (Liberation Music)
Mitchell Storck for Midnight Oil “The Overflow Tank”(Sony Music)
Peter Salmon-Lomas for Paul Kelly “Life Is Fine” (EMI)

Engineer Of The Year    

Oliver Hugh Perry & Fabian Prynn for D.D Dumbo  “Utopia Defeated”  (Liberation Music)
John Castle for Dean Lewis “Lose My Mind” (Island Records Australia/Universal Music Australia)
Adrian Breakspear for Gang Of Youths “Go Farther In Lightness” (Mosy Recordings/Sony Music)
Bob Scott for Kate Miller-Heidke & Sydney Symphony Orchestra “Live at the Sydney Opera House” (ABC Music/Universal Music)
Steven Schram for Paul Kelly ”Life Is Fine” (EMI)

Producer Of The Year

Daniel Rankine for A.B. Original “Reclaim Australia” (Golden Era Records/ UMA)
Tom Iansek for Big Scary “Animal” (Pieater/Inertia)
Oliver Hugh Perry & Fabian Prynn for D.D Dumbo  “Utopia Defeated” (Liberation Music)
Gang Of Youths and Adrian Breakspear for Gang Of Youths “Go Farther In Lightness”(Mosy Recordings/Sony Music)
Steven Schram for Paul Kelly   “Life Is Fine” (EMI)


Best Classical Album

Grigoryan Brothers “Songs Without Words” (ABC Classics/Universal)
Jayson Gillham, Melbourne Symphony Orchestra & Benjamin Northey  “Medtner: Piano Concerto No. 1 | Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 2”(ABC Classics/Universal Music)
Kate Miller-Heidke & Sydney Symphony Orchestra  “Live at the Sydney Opera House” (ABC Music/Universal Music)
Slava Grigoryan “Bach: Cello Suites Volume I” (ABC Classics/Universal Music)
Tamara-Anna Cislowska “Elena Kats-Chernin: Unsent Love Letters – Meditations on Erik Satie” (ABC Classics/Universal Music)

Best Jazz Album

Australian Art Orchestra “Water Pushes Sand” Jazzhead (Head Records)
James Morrison & James Morrison Academy Jazz Orchestra “James Morrison With His Academy Jazz Orchestra (ABC Jazz/Universal Music)
James Morrison, BBC Concert Orchestra, Keith Lockhart, Harry Morrison & William Morrison “The Great American Songbook” (ABC Jazz/Universal Music)
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard ”Sketches Of Brunswick East” (FLIGHTLESS/Inertia)
The Vampires “The Vampires meet Lionel Loueke”(Earshift / Planet)

Best Original Soundtrack or Musical Theatre Cast Album

Australian Cast Recording feat. David Campbell “Dream Lover” (Sony Music)
Cezary Skubiszewski “Red Dog: True Blue OST” (Decca Records/Universal Music Australia)
Jessica Mauboy “The Secret Daughter (Songs from the Original TV Series)” (Sony Music)
Nigel Westlake & Sydney Symphony Orchestra, with Joseph Tawadros, Slava Grigoryan & Lior“Ali’s Wedding” (ABC Classics/Universal Music)
Richard Tognetti & Australian Chamber Orchestra “Mountain” (ABC Classics/Universal Music)

Best World Music Album

Joseph Tawadros “Live at Abbey Road” (Independent/Planet)
Katie Noonan and Karin Schaupp “Songs of the Latin Skies” (KIN Music/Universal Music)
Melbourne Ska Orchestra “Saturn Return”(ABC Music / Universal)
Slava Grigoryan & Australian String Quartet “Migration” (ABC Classics/Universal Music)
Xylouris White  “Black Peak” (Caroline Australia)


Arj Barker  “Get In My Head” (Universal Pictures Australasia / Universal Sony Pictures Home Entertainment)
Buddy Goode “More Rubbish” (ABC Music / Universal)
John Clarke “Clarke’s Classics” (ABC Classics/Universal Music)
Kitty Flanagan ”Seriously?” (Universal Pictures Australasia / Universal Sony Pictures Home Entertainment)
Rhys Nicholson  “Rhys Nicholson Live at The Eternity Playhouse” (Century Entertainment)

Share post